Initial Research

Initial Research

I have until March to fulfil two projects for Studio photography. I feel I should start this project by summarising what my initial research will be.

Mono

The first project is a sunglasses campaign for a magazine that is aimed at 16-30 years old with a 50/50 split of male and female in their audience.

6.jpgIMG_0264The first bit of research I will be do for this project will involve taking photos of people on the street wearing sunglasses.  I thought of this when I read this line in the brief, “no two people wear the same glasses the same way“. I feel it would be a good idea to explore if the clothes that are worn have an affect on the sunglasses. Maybe if someone is wearing a suit do they wear there sunglasses formally like the person above. Maybe if someone is wearing less formal clothes, there glasses might be scruffy. They might not be. Essentially I want to see if theres any correlation between the subjects clothes and there glasses.

I’m also going to look at how sunglasses are advertised through photography.

Fanzine

The other studio project is to create a Fanzine about one of our interest. So the first bit of research I will do is create a mind-map of what my interest are.

Screen Shot 2017-10-23 at 11.53.26
Front cover of the next edition of VOTV

The second bit of research I will do is read some fanzines. I will collect one on Saturday when I’m at Charlton Athletic where they have Voice Of The Valley which is “an independent Charlton Athletic fanzine”. It is a monthly copy. Hopefully this will give me an insight into how to portray my interest to which this a bunch of Charlton fans talking about there interest in there club.

 

So finally I will also research into the history of fanzines, when did they emerge, how have they been used, famous ones etc.

Leave a comment